about us

Dairy Discussion Group Innovation Event to Showcase Top 10 Teams

28 November 2012

The new competition was launched earlier this year, with the objective of stimulating discussion among dairy discussion groups to allow for the development of the stronger bonds between members; and also to encourage the development of profit or lifestyle based innovations for widespread farm adoption.

The competition has attracted significant interest and the calibre of entries was extremely high. From the initial applications, 10 discussion groups were shortlisted and the event will provide a platform for these groups to showcase their fresh thinking and fight it out for a share of the €20,000 prize fund.

The event will include a presentation from each of the shortlisted teams, followed by a five minute Q&A session, which is open to the floor. The judging panel comprises representatives from the four competition partners - ACCBank, Teagasc, ICBF and the Irish Farmers Journal - as well as a guest judge Mr. Michael McElroy, from Intertrade Ireland Acumen. Pat Dillon, Head of Animal and Grassland Programme at Teagasc will chair the morning session, with Matt Dempsey, editor of the Irish Farmers’ Journal, taking over for the afternoon session.

Pat Byrnes, Agri Manager, ACCBank Limerick commented: “We are very pleased to be part of this innovative event, and we expect this to be a lively, informative day and a great
opportunity for other discussion groups, not involved in the competition, to pick up new ideas for 2013.” Tom O’Dwyer, Head of the Dairy Knowledge Transfer Teagasc said: “We have been very impressed with the quality of the applications for this competition - they have demonstrated that great things can be achieved by dairy farmers coming together and applying innovative thinking to available technologies to deliver new solutions to farm challenges.”

Notes to Editor:

About the event

The Dairy Discussion Group Innovation Event takes place on the 4th December at the
Tullamore Court Hotel, Tullamore. The event kicks off at 9 am sharp and aims to finish at 5 pm. Tickets are available from Teagasc. As spaces at this event are limited pre-booking is required. Contact Niamh Allen, Teagasc, at 025 42244 to book a ticket. Tickets cost €40 and include lunch or €30 for multiple ticket purchases (Group discount). Payment by credit card can be accepted.

About ACCBank:

ACCBank is an agri-lending bank and is owned by Dutch Bank Rabobank. The Rabobank
Group is an international financial services provider operating on the basis of cooperative
principles. Focus is on broad financial services provision in the Netherlands and primarily on the food and agribusiness internationally. Rabobank Group has approximately 59,400 employees (in FTEs), who serve about 10 million customers in 48 countries. In terms of Tier I capital, Rabobank Group is among the world’s 30 largest financial institutions. Rabobank is consistently awarded a high rating by all rating agencies.

About Teagasc

Teagasc – the Agriculture and Food Development Authority – is the national body providing integrated research, advisory and training services to the agriculture and food industry and rural communities. It was established in September 1988 under the Agriculture (Research, Training and Advice) Act, 1988.

About ICBF

The Irish Cattle Breeding Federation (ICBF) is focused on providing benefits to Irish cattle farmers, the cattle breeding industry and its member organisations. The ICBF receives operating funds from the services it provides, a Grant from DAF and farmer contributions collected on ear tags.

About the Irish Farmers Journal

The Irish Farmers Journal is the only Agricultural publication that operates as a legal Trust. The only mandate is to provide the best possible technical support, market information and news to the agri sector. No dividends are paid and the Directors receive no fees. All profits go back into meeting the Trust’s objectives – to enhance the competitiveness of Irish farming and the well – being of those engaged in the sector.

Media queries (Rabobank)
WHPR: Colette Campbell, 01 669 0030 or colette.campbell@ogilvy.com